How getting actual shit sorted has helped me get back on track

It’s not something I usually discuss – let alone blog about – but our house has a septic tank. And about once every couple of years it needs to be emptied. Well, ours was left and left and left until a backup in the system caused a wonderful overflow to happen in the back garden every time a tap went on…

I nudged and asked and moaned at my husband that it needed doing, but I seemed to be the only one who was stressed about it. Eventually I realised that it was up to me to sort this shit out – literally!

So today, after weeks of worry, moaning and watching our garden get stinkier and stinkier, two lovely guys and their brown tanker* arrived to sort out the problem. It only took about half an hour and the system was emptied, blockage removed and all was flowing again as it should.

Why am I writing about this? Well, the moment it was complete I knew that there was a whole lot less shit to deal with (again, literally). I felt freer and emptier and it seemed that our septic tank had been showing signs of being full up and fed up just like me!

It was such a relief to tick that one stinky item off my list that it encouraged me to get another couple of long-overdue tasks completed too. So now I am up to date on some accounts that I had been putting off for far too long, I have started clearing out my office and I am making time for myself tonight to do some much needed journalling and planning. I am pretty sure that it is this internal clearing that I am most in need of at the moment.

Often it takes something to smack me in the face before I get the message that I have to get my shit together. Well, this time it was about as literal as it gets…

H x

serious*Serious ** is an amazing waste management company that I can definitely recommend – just the name makes me giggle like a child and the fact that they don’t hide the fact that they carry effluent around all day by painting their trucks brown! Their taglines are pretty catchy too…

Leave a Reply

