One Year On… and I’ve done it!!

Just over a year ago I wrote Sometimes “No” is the best answer, a blog post about a job that I applied for to bring in some much needed cash, but that I honestly didn’t want (and happily didn’t get!). Well, a year on from that post and my decision to focus on working for myself, I have an update to the story…

I have done it!!

Yes, I have achieved the goal that I set for myself 12 months ago when I didn’t go back to working in an office for someone else! I vowed that instead of throwing my energy into a job I didn’t even want (but could have done standing on my head), I would throw all of that energy and drive into my own businesses and earn just as much in a year working for myself – and I have!

The past 12 months have been tumultuous to say the least and I now run three businesses instead of the two that I started off with when I set myself this challenge.  I love all of them and they work wonderfully together most of the time, not least because when one is a little quiet, another is busy. They seem to ebb and flow in a way that knows I am but one person!

Now, don’t get me wrong – it has been a challenge, a lot of work, required an awful lot of juggling and I have felt lots of self doubt along the way, but my rewards are definitely worth it.  The best bit for me is that I am around for all the important dates for my children and family.  I plan my work around them and what’s great is that I work fewer hours than I would be if I was employed in the “part-time” job I applied for!

And the reason I wanted to share this with you?

It’s because you too can follow your dream and achieve your goals too – whatever they are. Start small if you want or need to and take bigger steps as you become more confident in your own abilities and have the support you need. I truly believe that we all have our own niche that only we can fill – so I urge you to find yours and start living in your own happiness and success. Only you know what that means to you!!

My next goal is to continue to build my businesses and to continue to encourage and inspire others to find their own true path too. I’ll let you know how I get on in another 12 months…

Holly

4 thoughts on “One Year On… and I’ve done it!!

Leave a Reply

