On being positive

Sun_and_rain_by_emolawn

“Keep your thoughts positive because your thoughts become your words. Keep your words positive because your words become your behavior. Keep your behavior positive because your behavior becomes your habits. Keep your habits positive because your habits become your values. Keep your values positive because your values become your destiny.”  – Mahatma Gandhi

I am a very positive person (well, most of the time anyway) and on a recent gloriously sunny morning, I commented to someone how simply wonderful the morning was and hoped that they had a great day.  As I wandered off to my surprise, they responded by saying, “well, sorry to tell you, but it’s going to rain later”.

WTF???

So OK, although there was not a single cloud in the sky, the forecast had predicted that our area ‘might’ get a shower or two later in the afternoon.  But really?  Why be so intent on looking for the cloud blocking out the sun when there was no sign of it?  And why burst my happy sunny bubble?  And therefore it set me off on this blog post!

Being positive is simply a state of mind.  It does require commitment and work to turn all of those negative things that we have in our heads from an early age (by teachers, parents, friends, family and ourselves of course too), but the rewards are enormous.  If you haven’t read my F**k It post then please pop over there for a great system to help you turn your own life around and start seeing the magical positives everywhere.  It really does work and I can’t recommend it highly enough.  But to be honest, I was already a pretty positive person before reading that book too.  I guess it comes from some pretty crap times I have had to face myself and knowing that looking negatively at things just doesn’t help.

So, anyway, back to my original story.  For the rest of the day I was just slightly miffed at this comment (not annoyed, or upset, just miffed) and I recalled it to anyone who would listen. Imagine instead if the response to my original comment had been “yes, isn’t it glorious” – I would have walked away with a spring in my step knowing that everything is right in the world.  To put it simply, our words create our reality and have great power over us and if you choose to live in a positive way, then you attract more positive things to you.  If you worry and are negative about things, you generally attract more of the same.

And the best thing of all about this story??  The day stayed amazingly bright and lovely until about 4pm when we had a little clearing shower – but that was all!  If all ‘rainy days’ were like that I would be a very happy woman…

Until next time, stay positive!!!!

H x

Leave a Reply

