Hello Spring – Welcome Back Me!

This week has been simply amazing and it’s all because it’s Spring! You see although I have lived in the UK for over 14 years, I still cannot cope with the dark and gloom of a British Winter.  If I could bulk buy enough food and drink and watch movies all day curled up under my doona from the end of October until the start of March then I would do it!  

Over the Winter months I’m lethargic, I sleep longer hours and eat tonnes and in a really bad year I get depressed too.  I almost have to bribe myself to do even the simplest tasks and the schedule of school runs, housework and the rush of Christmas are all that really keep me from hibernating completely!  This year hasn’t been as bad as some (thankfully) but it is only with the return of Spring and brighter days that I really know I have been suffering.  I sit somewhere between being a full on SAD (Seasonal Affective Disorder) sufferer and the having milder Sub-syndromal SAD (or Winter Blues) and anyone who has ever suffered from it knows how debilitating it can be.  It is most definitely not helped by the fact that for 25 years my body was happily soaking up lots of sunlight even in the coldest Melbourne Winter.

Spring mowingSo Spring here is my favourite time of the year.  I feel motivated and ready to tackle anything when the sun is shining!  I have even set myself the challenge of getting out in my garden EVERY DAY for the month of March and really make the most out of the glorious days.  Today I mowed a third of our field by hand (it’s almost an acre so pretty pleased with that progress) and will finish it off this week before moving on to the garden mowing, greenhouse cleaning and vegetable patch.

I feel like the real ‘me’ is finally returning, full of energy and ready to take on the rest of the year.  I know it’s not just me who suffers and hope that if you know someone who does, please give them support over the darker months – we really don’t mean to be sad…

For more information about SAD, visit the Seasonal Affective Disorder Association website: http://www.sada.org.uk/.

Leave a Reply

