7 Reasons it’s Great to be a WAHM

This week’s post is a shout out to all of the work-at-home mums (WAHMs) like me and my top 7 reasons why I love the weekly juggle of looking after my children with my self-employed businesses. And to just clarify – I see ALL mums who stay home and look after their kids as WAHMs because being a full-time mum does NOT mean you don’t work!  Don’t even get me started on the way some people treat us…

Here’s why my choice is an awesome one for me:

  1. Sharing their lives – whenever my kids have something to share or tell they come to me because I’m always here. I hear what’s happened at school, I help with homework, I teach them things and I cuddle them when they are upset or hurt – or just when they want a cuddle – and every week I get to take them to their after-school activities and watch how quickly they are growing up.  Definitely my number one reason for being a WAHM!
  2. Mum friends – because I work from home, most of my close friends are also home mums. We drop our kids off at school in the morning and then sometimes (and I really do mean sometimes) catch up for a coffee or lunch. When you work you have people you can chat to during the day, but occasionally getting together with other mums is a lifeline for those of us who don’t have an office to go to.
  3. Volunteering – being a WAHM means that I can fit in voluntary roles around my family & work, thus keeping groups that other people’s kids go to running! Over the past 8 years I’ve volunteered at playgroup and run the PTA and I’m now the Treasurer for my sons’ Scout group and write the monthly Parish news. I love helping out in the background and I learning new skills all the time too.
  4. Flexibility – I get to go to school assemblies, get my hair cut, visit the doctor/dentist and attend courses without having to take time off – I just juggle things to fit around it.  It also means that the after-hours slots are available for those who do work 9-5 (aren’t I considerate?!).
  5. Being my own boss – running my own businesses means I no longer have to put up with rubbish bosses (and boy have I had a few of those over the years!). I haven’t had a therapy client yet make a fuss about the fact I work school hours and evenings, and in fact most of them are very supportive. It also helps my cross stitch business is not a 9-5 job either as I get orders from all over the world!
  6. No commuting – ah yes, the joys of my commute from Cambridgeshire to central London every day are a long distant memory…
  7. My House – I have a sign in my kitchen that says “My house was clean last week, sorry you missed it” so you can tell that housework is not my greatest passion. However, it is lovely to be able to get the washing and ironing done during the week and it is also nice to use our house for more than just evenings and weekends, leaving it empty for the rest of the week while everyone is at work. I get to really live in it and it is my sanctuary as well as my workplace.

So, there you have it!  Who wouldn’t want to be a WAHM!!  I know that I love what I do and that looking after my kids is my first priority, but working for myself is also an amazing opportunity. One day my boys will be all grown up and move out and I have promised myself that even though I won’t have their schedules to juggle things around, that I will not go back to someone else’s vision of what work should be. My future is definitely not going to conform & I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Do you work differently than the norm?  I would love to hear how it suits you too…

Holly

One thought on “7 Reasons it’s Great to be a WAHM

  1. Pingback: I DO have a REAL job! | Holly Hinton

Leave a Reply

