How The Desire Map is changing my life

We are now well into June and one of my goals for 2013 was to write more blog posts…  It just wasn’t happening and I was beating myself up about it.  That only seemed to make it worse and so started a vicious cycle…  You get the picture.

But then something amazing happened.  I happened to be scrolling through my Facebook posts and saw that an inspiring lady called Danielle LaPorte was sharing her program called The Desire Map.  I am an avid reader and student and a ‘self-help’ groupie too (as you will see from some of my earlier posts on my favourite books) so I headed to her website, read the introduction and thought it sounded like just what I needed – anything to help me get out of my writing rut.

What can I say?  I am only part way through the book and workbook but have already felt an enormous weight lifted from my shoulders.  Danielle has written The Desire Map as a holistic approach to planning your life.  It guides you to identify your core desired feelings, and to use those feelings as the drivers of what you want to do, have and experience in your life.  In effect it turns goal-setting inside out, and that’s what I really like about it.  As well as the fact that she realises that most of us have really busy lives and won’t get all the exercises and reading done in a day or two!  I feel that she’s given me permission to work this around my young children, my businesses and other commitments.

I’ve already joined The Desire Map Facebook Group and even found myself as the joint Admin of a new UK Desire Map Facebook group, I’m busy mapping my Core Desire Feelings (CDFs) and although it’s only been a matter of weeks, my husband and friends are already seeing and commenting on how differently I approach almost everything.  I feel motivated to blog again (one of my CDFs is being ‘Connected’) and hope to write about the inspiring way this multimedia program is really changing my life for the better.  I am learning so much so quickly and it’s great.

Here’s to living with life-affirming goals that really do resonate with my soul!  x

8 thoughts on “How The Desire Map is changing my life

  1. Pingback: Feeling Positive | Holly Hinton

  2. alohaleya

    i love danielle laporte! i’ve read her book ‘fire starter sessions’ and it was amazing but i have yet to try the desire map. she truly rocks. 🙂

    Reply
    1. hollyhinton Post author

      I agree! She’s amazing, so down to earth and her words just speak to me so well – ‘goals with soul’ as she puts it are the way forward!!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Stitching my Desire Map | Holly Hinton

  4. Pingback: Living & Sharing My Desires | Holly Hinton

  5. Pingback: F**k It – it’s time to blog again… | Holly Hinton

  6. Pingback: I’ve Jumped and I’m Floating!! | Holly Hinton

  7. Pingback: Boundaries Are Super Important | Holly Hinton – notes on living an authentic life

Leave a Reply

