Inspirational People

I am truly amazed and inspired by the strength and commitment of those special people who can put others first and make a real difference in the world.  I strive to be one of them, but given the blogs and pages I have been reading by three amazing people this week, I have a long way to go.

The first is Kate of ‘Chasing Rainbows‘.  Her story is sad but full of strength and resolve to ensure that we all learn from her heart-wrenching loss.  Make sure you have the tissues ready when you read this one!  I have only been following her story for a short time both through her blog and on Facebook, but the selfless way she shares her grief and gives us all the message to be kind and thoughtful to others is simply amazing.  She has inspired me as part of her birthday project to find a way of helping children other than my own.

This leads me on to my second hero, Robyn of ‘TinySuperheroes‘.  This dedicated mother sews superhero capes for, as she puts it: “extraordinary TinySuperheroes who exemplify strength and determination as they overcome great adversity”.  She sends them to those children who need them and is always looking for sponsors to donate so she can make more capes – she has lots of kids waiting.  You can also follow Robyn on Facebook and today I donated a cape and hope it brings a smile to an amazing child’s face.

Capes for Tiny Superheroes

Robyn and her volunteers sew capes for tiny superheroes to help them overcome great adversity.

Finally, I have to write about Christian Around Britain. Christian Nock is an ex-Serviceman who is walking unaided around the entire coastline of Britain to raise money for Help for Heroes and sleeping rough to highlight the plight of ex-servicemen and women who become homeless.  His journey started on the 8th of the 8th 2012 and it is likely to take him up to two years to walk the 6500 mile journey.  You can donate via his website, just as I have, and help him raise funds to support all our service heroes.

As much as I am supporting them in their individual quests, they are helping me too.  The world truly can be changed one wish, one cape and one step at a time x

Leave a Reply

