Why I NEED Facebook

Facebook – love it or loathe it, it’s here to stay.  I don’t deny that there are some things I don’t like about it: people asking to be your ‘friends’ who you’ve never heard of, too many posts about cats and the fact that you can waste hours on there without really doing anything!  But on the other hand it allows you to connect to people who you wouldn’t otherwise stay in contact with, see some amazing things and be part of the global community of our wonderful planet.

And Facebook is definitely on my list of ‘needs’.

Why?  Well, I live half way around the world from where I spent my first 25 years.  I’m a born and bred Aussie and all of my family and good friends from childhood still live there.  Before Facebook I would occasionally receive an email joke or a Christmas card with a few words in it from some of them, but it wasn’t a lot.  I like to know what my friends are doing and what they’ve achieved and that’s what Facebook lets me do.  Some are barristers, pilots, firefighters, paramedics, scientists or teachers.  Some ski in the Himalayas, take photos of celebrities, surf all the time, run bars or manage bands.  And many have children and I get to see them growing up too.  To be honest if it wasn’t for Facebook I would never even see photos of my nephews!

Facebook makes me feel connected with those who I no longer see every day but are still part of my life.  It lets me share my little wins with them and feel their support in the comments they post; it lets me welcome new babies into the world  and see their faces as soon as they are born; it lets me share my passions and businesses with friends and anyone who wants to listen and connects me to people who feel the same way; and it makes our planet feel a whole lot smaller and more connected.

And that’s got to be a good thing, right?

2 thoughts on “Why I NEED Facebook

Leave a Reply

